Skip to content
November 8, 2010 / theoldsilly

Hugs Therapy Virtual Tour 2010 Wrapup – And the Winners Are!

Today I am pleased to announce the winners in the readers’ contest during the recent two-week-long…

Hugs Therapy Virtual Tour 2010!

Featuring The Old Silly’s new novel, Beware the Devil’s Hug

If you missed all or any part of it, just go to the page on this blog with the same name as the tour. There are archived permalinks to all the varied, creative, entertaining, informative and downright fun posts that the hosts and I collaborated on. But on with the show …

Aaaaaaaand now! (may I have a drum roll, please? No. Wait. Not that drunken one-armed derelict again? Can’t we get a real musician in this studio? Sigh, just give him five bucks and tell him to go, okay?)

Sorry ’bout that, folks. Ahem.

AaaaaaaaaaaaaanNND NOW!

The winners in the Hugs Therapy Virtual Tour 2010 Readers’ Contest!

  • In 5th place, with an impressive number of points racked up, is Cactus Annie. Go Cactus! According to the contest rules, you’ve won a copy of my third book release, Between the Storm and the Rainbow. I know you have already purchased all four of my books, but how about I sign this one and send it off to you for a special keepsake, okay?
  • Checking in at 4th place winner, is none other than blogging juggernaut, Alex Cavanaugh, the host for the Grand Kickoff Event for the tour. Alex, you have also won a signed copy of Between the Storm and the Rainbow. Get it out to you aysap, good and appreciated sir!
  • Weighing in at 3rd place is blogger, writer, networker and editor extraordinaire, Helen Ginger. For you, Helen, I have a signed copy of my first book, I Romanced the Stone (Memoirs of a Recovering Hippie). If you already have read Stone and have yet to read any of my other books and would rather one of those instead, just shout me a holla, okay?

And now for the TOP TWO WINNERS!

These two ran neck and neck the whole tour, one taking the lead, then the other, and then finally the other inching ahead and pulling away at the end. Much appreciated you are, both of you, by the Old Silly for your steady support of the tour!

In second place, the first runner up winner is …

Arlee Bird!

Arlee racked up 30 points in the contest, commenting on almost every post stop, and leaving several comments on Free Spirit during the tour as well. For you, Lee, I am sending a signed copy of my last novel, Owen Fiddler. And judging by your very candid, thoughtful and thought-provoking review of Hugs, I’m betting you will find the read time well spent. We’ll see. Can’t wait to hear from you after having the Owen Fiddler Experience!

And the Grand Prize Winner! The one. The Only. The beautiful, talented, vivacious, and oh-so-clever blogging great gal, one of The Old Silly’s absolute favorite, lippy, and all the time disagreeing with me Liberal …

Kissie!

Yuup. She chalked up a whopping 43 points during the tour, gang, commenting all over the place, interacting with people, and did the best job of all hosts in terms of building up momentum on her blog for a humongous and successful turnout on her Grand Finale Event stop for the tour.

Now, according to the contest rules, Kissie, you were to receive a copy of Owen Fiddler. But I know you already have one of those, so I am sending you instead a signed copy of Beware the Devil’s Hug. Yessiree Bob, and I WILL take a big, looooong, warm and friendly hug from you when we see each other again, kayzies? (wink)

All of you winners, I need you to contact me off-blog, at marvwilson2020atgmaildotcom, with your snail mail addresses, so I can get your books off to you in short order, please!

So that’s it, peeps. Tour’s over, winners have won, and I say one more last “Thank You!” to all the great hosts, and the wonderful readers who followed the tour. And lots of Hugs were sold, judging by the Amazon rankings, so to all of you who purchased during the tour, BIG HUGS from The Old Silly!

Chow, gang, I’m back to writing, editing, marketing, and blogging. It’s been a great ride, but I’m glad to get back to normal.

Normal. Right. Me?

Love y’all, bye now.

Click on Tweety Bird and Tweet this post if you liked it!

Tweet Me from The Old Silly's Free Spirit Blog

21 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Elizabeth Spann Craig / Nov 8 2010 5:49 am

    Congratulations to the winners! And Marvin–you had an amazing tour! Best wishes for your release.

  2. Alex J. Cavanaugh / Nov 8 2010 7:52 am

    Really? Wow! Any chance I could get an eBook version instead? Not that I don’t want your awesome signature, but I’m really trying to put my iPad’s eReader to use. Thanks, Marvin!

    • theoldsilly / Nov 8 2010 1:04 pm

      You want it – you GOT it, dude! πŸ˜‰

  3. Arlee Bird / Nov 8 2010 8:51 am

    What an absolute surprise! Maybe I should buy a lottery ticket as well. I was wanting to read one of your other books for comparison and by golly I will and I will give my assessment. Thank you, Marvin. An email is on the way.

    Lee
    Tossing It Out

    • theoldsilly / Nov 8 2010 1:06 pm

      You are SO welcome, Lee – looking forward to your review … The Owen Fiddler experience is quite different than the Hugs experience. But you will also see similarities in author voice, style, and spiritual/inspirational themes.

  4. L. Diane Wolfe / Nov 8 2010 9:36 am

    Congrats to the winners! And my post about blog tours went up this morning Marvin – thanks for contributing!

    • theoldsilly / Nov 8 2010 1:07 pm

      Just read your post – well done! Hey everyone, bop on over to Diane’s blog today – especially if you are ever planning a virtual tour!

  5. Mary Montague Sikes - Monti / Nov 8 2010 10:25 am

    Enjoyed reading about your tour on Diane’s blog. Great that you created a contest with lots of competition going on. You’ve inspired me.

    Good luck,
    Monti
    NotesAlongTheWay

  6. Kissie / Nov 8 2010 11:04 am

    Can I get a woot, woot! πŸ™‚

    Thank you, Marvin, for allowing me to play a significant part. I pray the success of this book will be beyond your wildest dreams.

    • theoldsilly / Nov 8 2010 1:10 pm

      Woot Woot!

      That’s for you, sweetie. πŸ™‚

      And many thanks for the support and kind wishes!

  7. Helen Ginger / Nov 8 2010 1:08 pm

    Yay! I won, I won, I won. Looking forward to reading Stone.

    As to your question about “normal” — there’s
    Normal, then there’s Marvin Normal, then there’s Abnormal. Although, to tell you the truth, I’m not sure what normal Abs are anyway.

    • theoldsilly / Nov 8 2010 1:11 pm

      Hmm – Marvin Normal. Kind of an oxymoron isn’t it? πŸ˜‰

      Teehee – your copy of Stone will soon be in the mail – just email me with the addy.

  8. Patricia Stoltey / Nov 8 2010 1:09 pm

    This is a great list of winners, Marvin. Congratulations to all, and especially to Kissie.

  9. Stephen Tremp / Nov 8 2010 4:21 pm

    A great way to wrap things up by giving away free stuff! Congrats! on a successful tour. Its a lot of work but you did it. You had great hosts too.

  10. Jane Kennedy Sutton / Nov 8 2010 6:48 pm

    Congratulations to all your winners! It was a fantastic tour, Marvin, and I’m glad I was a part of it.

  11. Kissie / Nov 9 2010 2:16 am

    Marvin, now is a time to reward all of your readers with the CommentLuv plugin. πŸ™‚

    Then you can reward yourself with the G.A.S.P. plugin … no more spam and no need for Akismet.

    Seriously.

  12. Enid Wilson / Nov 9 2010 5:11 am

    Now what have you planned? Put up your feet, drink some champagne and listen to Celin Dion (*wink*)? Congratulations.

    My Darcy Mutates

Leave a Reply

