Skip to content
March 20, 2011 / theoldsilly

Pacific Coastal Earthquakes – Is California Next in the “Ring of Fire”?

I’m once again deviating from the norm in blog topics here at Free Spirit, with a follow up to last Monday’s post on the Japan Tsunami 2011. I only do this because there is a word of warning and grave concern that needs to be voiced and I feel it my obligation, in good conscience, to contribute to the public awareness. I recently became aware of a scientist who is and has been shouting out an alarm, and who has not been paid significant attention to–with dire results due to the public’s ignorance.

Jim Berkland is a noted geologist who worked six years for the U.S. Geological Survey. He is one who admits he was–in the past–a confirmed ‘skeptic’ when it came to looking for and believing in ‘signs’ from Nature as clues to imminent major earth events. Well, he has changed on that. He has “seen the light” and started putting two and two together to predict when they add up to a dealy five. He predicted the ominous and well-recorded ‘World Series Earthquake” in San Fransisco in 1989, and tried to warn people four days before it occurred, and get this–he was fired by the USGS as being an alarmist quack for going public with his prediction! Berkland predicted the just-passed devastation in Japan, he foresaw the big one (7.2 on the Rector Scale) last month in New Zealand, and the 6.2 magnitude 2010 Chilean earthquake.

He sees, and is being joined by a growing number of his colleagues in seeing, from a geologist’s learned viewpoint, after having recognized some heretofore not-payed-any-attention-to ‘clues’, a distinct pattern developing. A series of quakes (and the ensuing tsunamis) going systematically and clockwise around the perimeter of the Pacific Ocean … a phenomenon that he and other experts are now referring to as the “Ring of Fire.”

He has, as you can see, a very scary track record of correctness in his predictions, and he claims that the Pacific Northwest is next on the quake dockets–the critical time, what he calls the “seismic window,” is right NOW through the next couple of weeks. Take five minutes, please … watch this:

I have lots of friends in California, Washington, and Oregon. Any of you good people out there … if you see any unusual beachings of aquatic animals, any sightings of deep water fish coming into shallow waters, please …

Get the heck out of there!

 

I hope and pray he’s wrong about this. Of course all of us have heard and read, for decades now, numerous scientific reports and warnings that the San Andreas Fault Line is long overdue for a rupture and that California is destined any day now to break off the continent and fall into the Pacific Ocean. So look–I’m not trying to be an alarmist, and I’ll be happy as a pig in slop if this Berkland prediction is dead wrong. Call me an Old Silly for even bringing it up if it doesn’t happen–won’t hurt my feelings. But if you are living anywhere in the “Ring of Fire”, well … if I were you I would at least go to this guy’s website, bone up on the indicators he looks for as meaning an earthquake is imminent, and then you make up your own mind about what to do or not do. I did my part.

OK, that’s it for today, blog dismissed. I’ll be back on topic tomorrow, promise … assuming, that is, that sunny CA hasn’t just been hit with the Big One!

~~~~~

Click on Tweety Bird and Tweet this post if you liked it!

Tweet Me from The Old Silly's Free Spirit Blog

26 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Hilary / Mar 20 2011 5:03 am

    Hi Marvin .. very interesting thoughts and seems to make sense .. animals do predict. The earthquake in Italy was preceded by animals behaving very oddly ..

    I hope all will be well – but that video makes a scary watch if he’s right …

    All the best to everyone .. Hilary

    • theoldsilly / Mar 20 2011 7:45 am

      Yes, odd animal behavior is one of the signs. Pets that wander off and can’t find their way home – something about the magnetic lines being ajar from the norm…

  2. Cactus Annie / Mar 20 2011 6:48 am

    I’m with Hilary – I’ve heard that strange animal behavior – especially birds and sea creatures is a warning sign for earth events. So I hope that Jim Berkland is off on at least this one prediction – I got family out there in the Pacific NW!

    • theoldsilly / Mar 20 2011 7:46 am

      Yes, I hope and pray Berkland is off on this one too, Cactus!

  3. Stanley Berber / Mar 20 2011 7:40 am

    I actually have been listening to Berkland’s warnings ……. a friend turned me on to some youtube clips of his about a year ago. He IS disputed by a lot of the more conservative geologists, but then – you can’t hardly argue too much with a guy who has a track record like his. Better safe than sorry, I say.

  4. Ron Berry / Mar 20 2011 8:50 am

    It’s been expected for a long time. I agree that animals are the first signs. Part of the Pacific highway already fell in, let’s hope no more goes. Otherwise, I can sell beachfront property in the rockies.

    • theoldsilly / Mar 20 2011 8:57 am

      Do you OWN property in the Rockies just east of the San Andreas Fault? Cuz that’s be a MAJOR cunning REA move, dude! 😉

  5. Arlee Bird / Mar 20 2011 9:01 am

    I watched that video last night when one of my nephews posted it on Facebook. Earthquakes are continually on my mind, but I’m not overly worried about myself and what family I have here. If we run, maybe something bad or worse will happen where we go. Maybe nothing will have in anyplace I am. The guy predicting this stuff makes good observations, but I also put my trust in God to let his will be done.

    Lee
    Tossing It Out

    • theoldsilly / Mar 20 2011 4:51 pm

      I too, Lee, put my trust in God. And these ‘signs’ are all too Biblical, hmm?

  6. ReformingGeek / Mar 20 2011 9:24 am

    Interesting but I always question folks who seem to pop-up and say they have predicted this or that after the events occurred.

    Even so, let’s hope he’s wrong. 🙂

    • theoldsilly / Mar 20 2011 11:28 am

      Reffie, me to, about the “after” predictions, but – this guy has predicted the earthquakes BEFORE they happen! Big difference …

  7. Maryann Miller / Mar 20 2011 10:56 am

    This is really interesting, and scary. I remember reading a book a long time ago about the western half of the U.S. falling into the ocean after a major quake. I think it was called Cataclysm. Scared the bejeebers out of me.

    • theoldsilly / Mar 20 2011 4:52 pm

      I remember that one, Maryann – scary indeed!

  8. Alex J. Cavanaugh / Mar 20 2011 1:28 pm

    That’s scary!

  9. L. Diane Wolfe / Mar 20 2011 1:36 pm

    I’m about to fly to Salem, Oregon – thanks, Marvin!

    • theoldsilly / Mar 20 2011 4:52 pm

      You’re welcome, and here’s praying for a safe trip, Diane!

  10. yvonne lewis / Mar 20 2011 4:34 pm

    Very interesting thought Marvin, but pray to God you’re wrong. Let’s hope the disasters are over , how much more can the world take?

    Yvonne.

  11. Bob Sanchez / Mar 20 2011 8:06 pm

    Hi Marvin,
    Disasters will always be with us. We can get out of these areas or we can prepare as well as possible. Nuclear reactors on the San Andreas fault probably isn’t the brightest idea ever.

  12. Karen Walker / Mar 21 2011 9:18 am

    Very very scary stuff here. EEk!
    Karen

  13. Jeannine Gardella / Mar 22 2011 8:58 am

    I’m going to share this one, Marvin. Lots of family in Oregon, brother on the CA coast. I do believe it is important to pay attention. We pray for wisdom, God gives us signs, we have to be on the alert.

  14. Doris Plaster / Mar 22 2011 9:34 pm

    Marvin,
    That’s very interesting–and scary.

    Thanks for enlightening us.

    Doris

  15. Karen Tenney / Mar 23 2011 10:50 am

    What if it’s completely true and so many people will be affected by a coastal US earthquake in the next week?
    I hope you can CA, if at all possible, for the next week and, if not, bone up on emergency preparedness in your home (get important docs together, cash, one versatile outfit to wear, 1 pr. of shoes, a sweater and coat, otherf versatile clothes, and a pharmacy kit) into one bag. Put together a 2-3 day multi-purpose bag with extra clothes and toiletries, and an Emergency Backpack, including sleeping bags, tents and something to cook on and purify water with.

    • Stanley Berber / Mar 23 2011 11:18 am

      Well said and recommended, Karen!

  16. anewcreation / Sep 8 2011 3:37 pm

    Due a dream I recently had and which I have written about on my blog today, I felt led to search “Blogs about California earthquakes and yours came up.

    It sure is interesting reading having recently had this dream.

    I thought you may find it interesting.

Leave a Reply

