Skip to content
March 31, 2011 / theoldsilly

Old Good News News

So I’m scrolling through the news this morning, sipping a strong cup o’ Joe, having the usual mumbling, grumbling reactions to typical wake-up, America headlines, like:

“Nato Takes Full Control in Lybia” and

“Obama Authorizes Covert Operations in Libya, as U.S. Considers Aiding Rebels, Sources Say” and

“High Radiation Slows Recovery of Dead in Japan” and

“Opinion: ‘Stop Worrying and Support the Rebels'”

(That one I do worry about, we (The US, under Obama’s direction) are apparently arming members of the Al Qaeda in Lybia–supposedly they are on “our side” in this get-rid-of-Moamar Kadaffi campaign, but … dangerous bedfellows, hmm? And have we not learned anything after helping out ol’ buddy Bin Ladin back in Afghanistan? He certainly expressed his gratitude in royal “Up-Yours” fashion later, didn’t he?)

… and on and on, the usual “end of times” breaking news stories that you could practically take right out of the Book of Revelation, I’m getting caught up on our dubious world situation, sipping and sighing, when I run across this headline:

“Ancient Books Uncovered in Jordan May Date to Start of Christianity”

Wow. What? Hmmm … Check out this opening excerpt from the article:

One of the largest and best-preserved collections of ancient sealed books has been discovered in a cave in Jordan and are believed to be some of the earliest Christian documents, according to the BBC.

The 70 tiny books could date back to the first century. Carbon dating tests found that a piece of leather found with the scrolls was over 2000 years old.

To read the whole article, click here. So often I’ve heard the Bible referred to as the “Good News Book” and, apparently, now we have some of the oldest good news as new news. I’m greatly anticipating the deciphering of these texts, which should take a while–they are in archaic Hebrew and in code, and currently there is an ownership squabble taking precedence over scholarship which is delaying the most important aspect of this discovery. Namely, here we have, for the first time, books that were written by the earliest followers of Christ, by people who were such close contemporaries of Jesus that they may have actually walked the streets with him and witnessed the crucifixion!

I’m going to grab another cup of java and do some more Google searching on this one. Thanks for blogging in, I know this is an unusual post for me, but …

What do you think about this discovery? And also, the world situation, the news headlines in general … do you grimace when you see most of the “Breaking News” flashes blaring the morning awake with all the chaos and violence?

I do, and I welcome the discovery of some old good news news.

Chow gang, make it a great day!

Click on Tweety Bird and Tweet this post if you liked it!

Tweet Me from The Old Silly's Free Spirit Blog

23 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Stanley Berber / Mar 31 2011 8:07 am

    WOW! I can hardly wait for those texts to be translated! As for the world sitch? “Sucks” comes to mind …….

    • theoldsilly / Mar 31 2011 8:13 am

      Very apt choice of word, Stan! 😦

  2. John Standish / Mar 31 2011 8:12 am

    Pretty incredible. I’ll have to read that article. But funding/arming Al-Qaeda? I don’t care if they are right now on “our side” in Lybia —- didn’t we learn anything from arming and training Bin Laden in Afghanistan? This is lunacy, pure insane madness!!!!

    • theoldsilly / Mar 31 2011 8:14 am

      John, I couldn’t agree more. I remember reading a quote – don’t remember who said it, but something like, “What we learn from history is that we never learn from history.”

      Pretty apropo, hmm?

  3. Cactus Annie / Mar 31 2011 8:16 am

    Amazing discovery! I know tha Nag Hammadi scroll findings were very enlightening about early Christianity – this could be even a greater find!

  4. Ron Berry / Mar 31 2011 8:58 am

    The news these days isn’t good, but it could always be worse. So we arm the rebels, so what? We get rid of a despot leader and I think that should be all we do. Then we level the country, keep the oil wells and make the rest of the country a parking lot. I would rather we arm the rebels than Bin Laden. Neither is a good choice but .if we don’t then the despot in charge (I can’t spell Gaddfi) will make life worse for the whole country. We could just capture him and make him watch I Love Lucy 24/7.

    As for the find, I read that and will reserve opinion until they are fully authenticated.

    • theoldsilly / Mar 31 2011 10:49 am

      Yeah, I agree the doc’s need to be doc’d as to their authenticity before we get TOO giddy …

  5. AmyLK / Mar 31 2011 9:21 am

    I think the find is amazing! I can’t wait to see what comes of it. I try to avoid news. Its depressing.

    • theoldsilly / Mar 31 2011 10:50 am

      I know – I don’t check news everyday – might become suicidal! 😦

  6. Alex J. Cavanaugh / Mar 31 2011 9:29 am

    Interesting! And I keep up with the news, although it’s often depressing.

    • theoldsilly / Mar 31 2011 10:53 am

      Depressing is an understatement, hmm?

  7. yvonne lewis / Mar 31 2011 10:45 am

    I enjoyed the read Marvin and found it amazing,

    Have a good day.
    Yvonne,

    • theoldsilly / Mar 31 2011 10:54 am

      Thanks, Yvonne – I’ll be over to your blog soon, too. πŸ™‚

  8. Joyce / Mar 31 2011 3:10 pm

    Amazing discovery–I’ll have to follow that one to see how it develops. I’d love to read the translated books–if those that are arguing over ownership ever realize the books belong to the whole world!

    I’m not one to listen to the news or read the newspaper on a regular basis. I feel so deeply for those who need that I end up getting completely depressed when I can’t help 😦

    • theoldsilly / Apr 1 2011 10:49 am

      Me too, Joyce, and I know what you mean.

  9. Enid Wilson / Apr 1 2011 7:37 am

    I was actually checking out ancient newspapers (1900) for story ideas. Unfortunately, the big news were the same as today: war, murder etc. The most interesting thing to read was in fact advertisement. In 1900, a pair of men’s trousers cost only 69 pence!

    • theoldsilly / Apr 1 2011 10:50 am

      69 pence!? Wish I could time travel to do my shopping!

  10. Hilary / Apr 1 2011 8:29 am

    Hi Marvin .. I ‘scan heard’ this here on the news one day .. once they’ve done their research .. it will certainly be an interesting find .. I presume there’s loads more tucked away in tiny crevices waiting to be found at some stage ..

    Thanks .. look forward to the updates and transcriptions in due course .. Hilary

    • theoldsilly / Apr 1 2011 10:51 am

      Yeah, Hilary – it’s quite exciting, hm? Of course, the books have to be authenticated before we get too worked up, but … if they are the real deal, what a discovery and how illuminating they could wind up being!

  11. handmaid / Apr 1 2011 8:54 am

    Psalm 2

    • theoldsilly / Apr 1 2011 10:55 am

      Just re-read Psalm 2, Handmaid, and yes – how appropriate. Wish all our world leaders would read and follow that, hmm?

  12. Hilary / Apr 1 2011 10:57 am

    Hi Marvin .. I thought you’d taken me for a ride and it was an April Fool .. highly likely – I believed the Spaghetti Tree in the 60s – do you know that one (check my blog if not?!? You’re right of course it’s got to be authenticated too .. Cheers Hilary

    • theoldsilly / Apr 1 2011 11:11 am

      60s Spaghetti Tree? No i hadn’t heard of that one, lol. I’ll be over to your blog soon to get enlightened! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

