Skip to content
April 10, 2011 / theoldsilly

Creative Thinking With Sandy Sims on Virtual Tour

Our special feature post today is about a man by the name of Sandy Sims-

Y esta es la casa donde arena Sims vive en México. Hermoso, ¿no?

Sandy has written and published a remarkable book, titled, How Frank Lloyd Wright Got Into My Head, Under My Skin And Changed The Way I Think About Thinking, A Creative Thinking Blue Print For the 21st Century

To read an excerpt, click on the book cover-

 

Mr. Sims has some interesting ideas and concepts he shares with people about changes happening in our world and how our creative thinking processes and our responsibility for propitious decision-making–come into play in being able to shape change. Check out this brief and very enlightening video clip:

Well said, Mr. Sims. As a Law of Attraction believer and practitioner, I heartily concur with your concepts, beliefs, and sound advice. Let’s learn a bit more about Sandy Sims, with this short bio:

Sandy Sims was raised and educated in the South.  After serving as Naval Officer and finishing graduate business school, he followed a dream to live in Honolulu where he built one of Hawaii’s most successful advertising  agencies.

The crisis of personal health and business setbacks opened the way to larger spiritual dimensions including a long association with the Caddy family, founders of the Findhorn Spiritual Community in Scotland His book,”How Frank Lloyd Wright Got Into My Head, Under My Skin And Changed The Way I Think About Thinking, A Creative Thinking Blue Print For the 21st Century,” is a memoir of his journey culminating in a 20 year project with the Frank Lloyd Wright Foundation.

He has collaborated with Psychiatrist, Kerry Monick MD, and authored Creative Thinking For The 21st Century, An Experiential Guidebook. Accepting the science that our intention does indeed affect the material world, it addresses what to be thinking about, how to shape these thoughts, and what might be the best way to avoid unintended consequences.

When not travelling, Sandy resides in San Miguel de Allende, Mexico where you can find him writing, playing tennis, poking around with his camera and embracing a new culture.

~~~~~

When offered to host a stop on this virtual tour, I was immediately drawn to the book title, what with my background in construction and architectural design. What lifelong huge fan of Frank Lloyd Wright and LOA guy wouldn’t be? So I found this short piece written by Sims of interest. I think you will, too.

Why I Wrote – How Frank Lloyd Wright Got Into My Head, Under My Skin And Changed The Way I Think About Thinking, A Creative Thinking Blue Print For the 21st Century

Comments from Sandy Sims

Originally I knew this would be a story of interest to people who follow architecture. After reading Wright’s autobiography I had been struck by the idea that not only was he famous but his drawings at the time were selling at auction for the same price as those of Leonardo da Vinci and Michelangelo.  He had designed over 1,000 designs but some 500 remained unbuilt. In an “a ha” flash I imagined that a collection of Wright’s unrealized designs built in Hawaii would be stunning.

The pursuit of this idea was so compelling, that I innocently and naively began the journey, and what a journey it was. I was cordially invited into many of Wright’s private homes, to meet their owners, and to hear their stories.  I became friends with those in the Taliesin Fellowship, some of whom were the earliest apprentices to Frank Lloyd Wright. It was a rich journey. While in the beginning I was attracted to the financial rewards that might have accrued, I later became fascinated by the idea of what it would be like to live inside of the space created by both a mystic and a genius. I found out.

~~~~~

For more information about Sandy Sims and How Frank Lloyd Wright Got Into My Head, Under My Skin And Changed The Way I Think About Thinking, A Creative Thinking Blue Print For the 21st Century, go to his author website, at creativethinkingbook.com

Oh, and another pretty cool thing I learned about Mr. Sims while prepping this post and doing a little digging around on him … we all have a bucket list, right? Well, Sandy has a rather grandiose item on his list. He would love–get this–to build a subdivision in Hawaii, constructing 75 of Frank Lloyd Wright’s never-built home designs on it! Yep. Check this out-

Is that awesome, or what? For more information about this dreamy property proposal, click here.

To purchase Sandy’s book and/or the workbook from Amazon.com, in either print or kindle versions, please click here on Get Creative!

Okay gang, let’s all show Sandy some love in the comments gallery. I’m sure he’ll be stopping in to interact with you all, so fire away with any questions and/or comments that beg a response and discussion. Chow!

Click on Tweety Bird and Tweet this post if you liked it!

Tweet Me from The Old Silly's Free Spirit Blog

29 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Barbra Kelser / Apr 8 2011 6:48 am

    Enjoyed the feature and learning about Sandy Sims. Excellent video! I’ll have to check your book out. I knew of Frank Wright, knew he was a genius at what he did, but I didn’t know he was like some mystic or something. Wow.

    • sandy sims / Apr 9 2011 1:25 am

      Thanks, Barbra. Hope you enjoy the book. Sandy

  2. Ashanti Kapoor / Apr 8 2011 6:51 am

    Wright’s genius is world-renowned. I studied architecture in India and we covered the works of Frank Lloyd Wright. Thanks for this feature, Marvin. And Mr. Sims, you certainly have a lot of good ideas that make sense to me, and I certainly hope and pray lots of others, too!

    • theoldsilly / Apr 8 2011 6:59 am

      Ashanti you’re welcome, I enjoyed learning more about Mr. Sims and FL Wright, too!

    • sandy sims / Apr 9 2011 1:16 am

      Thank you very much for your kind comments. Hope you may enjoy my book. It is on Kindle. Best of luck and regards, Sandy

  3. Marcus Franks / Apr 8 2011 6:55 am

    Hey now – I wanna get me a home in that Sub-D! What’s the down payment to reserve a lot/house?

    LOL, yeah I wish. But what a fine vision! Enjoyed learning about your book, Sandy, the workshops you do, and the ideas you espouse are right up the alley of what this world needs right now. Best wishes for your fabulous success! And thank you too, Old Silly, for hosting Sims and the heads-up!

    • theoldsilly / Apr 8 2011 7:00 am

      Marcus, my pleasure. And yes, when Sandy shows up we’ll have to ask him what he’ll take for a deposit on one of those homes, hmm? 😉

    • sandy sims / Apr 9 2011 1:18 am

      Thank you, Marcus, best wishes, Sandy

  4. litekepr / Apr 8 2011 3:18 pm

    Awesome comments – and I agree, I’d love a house there too 🙂

    I’m looking for several more blogs to talk about the Frank Lloyd Wright angle to this book — I’m open to any suggestions you all have. Also – Sandy has the link to drop by and should be by this evening.

    Nikki

    • theoldsilly / Apr 8 2011 4:17 pm

      Thanks for stopping in, Nikki. I sent you an email with a few links to some great bloggy buddies who do host tour stops and have a good following. 🙂

  5. Joyce / Apr 8 2011 4:10 pm

    Hello Marvin and Sandy!!! Great post Marv. I had the wonderful fortune to read and review both this book and the workbook and I’ll add my 6-color rating as testimony to how great they are!

    • theoldsilly / Apr 8 2011 4:17 pm

      Thanks, Joyce. Yes, I saw your feature earlier today while doing some blog-hopping. Nice job there, too!

    • sandy sims / Apr 9 2011 1:20 am

      Thank you both, Joyce and Marvin. I really appreciate the plugs and hope that your readers will find the material worthwhile. all the best, Sandy

  6. Stanley Berber / Apr 8 2011 4:10 pm

    Love the clip and the book/workbook concepts. So Sandy – you live in Mexico, right? ¿Habla español con fluidez entonces, asumí?

    • theoldsilly / Apr 8 2011 6:27 pm

      Usted llama a que habla? LOL, kidding, my Spanish is sketchy at best, too — oops, my English also, apparently! lol.

    • sandy sims / Apr 9 2011 1:21 am

      HI Stanley,

      Yes, San Miguel. The Spanish is poco a poco. All the best, Sandy

  7. Cactus Annie / Apr 8 2011 4:13 pm

    Count me in on the Wrightian Hawaiian development! LOL, well that is if I could afford it! Thanks for sharing with us today, Old Silly and Sandy! Quite interesting getting to the “Creative Thinking” book idea from a fascination with an architect.

    • theoldsilly / Apr 8 2011 6:29 pm

      Hey! As someone with a background in architectural design, I resemble that remark! 😉

    • sandy sims / Apr 9 2011 1:31 am

      Thank you Cactus Annie. Well I am not sure that window for building these designs is not closed. The only ones authorized to supervise the construction of Wright’s plans were the Taliesin Architects of the Frank Lloyd Wright Foundation. They have been disbanded. Pity. Sandy

  8. John Standish / Apr 8 2011 6:23 pm

    Frank Lloyd Wright was awesome. A true American icon and legend. Have you interacted with any of his students – perhaps disciples would be the better word?

    • sandy sims / Apr 9 2011 1:24 am

      HI John,

      Yes I did. I met several of the original apprentices among them Wes Peters, Wright’s first apprentice who was briefly married to Joseph Stalin’s daughter for a brief period of time. Best to you, Sandy

  9. Alex J. Cavanaugh / Apr 10 2011 7:38 am

    That’s an interesting mix of concepts!

  10. segmation / Apr 10 2011 10:34 am
    • theoldsilly / Apr 10 2011 2:15 pm

      Thanks for stopping in and the link, Seg – I’m a big DaVinci fan, too. 😉

  11. Thelma Banks / Apr 10 2011 2:12 pm

    Wow what a wonderful looking land development – and in Hawaii!? Awesome! The book sounds very interesting, and the clip was cool, too. Thanks for this feature!

    • theoldsilly / Apr 10 2011 2:16 pm

      Thelma, thanks for stopping by. Yeah, sigh, I wish that development could happen and I could afford a crib there!

  12. Enid Wilson / Apr 11 2011 2:40 am

    Excellent tips. Be creative is one of the most difficult “skill” to master.

    Bargain with the Devil

Trackbacks

  1. Details About Sandy Sims, Frank Lloyd Wright and Creative Thinking « Promo 101 Promotional Services
  2. The Creative Thinking Book by Sandy Sims Virtual Tour « Promo 101 Promotional Services

Leave a Reply

