Skip to content
September 5, 2011 / theoldsilly

Labor Day Back to Blog Post

Well, all my five my grandkids are very excited over going back to school this week.

What’s that?

Yes, yes … that’s what I said  – excited! Can you believe it? They actually like school, so – pretty cool, and good for them. Also good for their parents – my daughter, Connie, and her husband, Jonathan. They’ve done a wonderful job of parenting, I couldn’t be more proud of them. Good, guiding, instructing, correcting, loving and caring parenting is a dying art that these two young lovers still know how to do. Makes me happy to see that.

Very. Happy.

And I thought this would be a good day for the Old Silly to get back to blogging, too. Even though I needed to take a summer break and get some other areas of my life regimen under better control, I really have missed Bloggydom, and it feels good to be putting up a post, getting ready to bop in again on my fave blogs … great stuff. The wonderful kingdom of bloggydom is filled with an abundance of such interesting, kind, and talented people.

So going back to blog is refreshing for me. I enjoyed my blogcation, got 5 books edited for other authors, made some progress on one of my own, and let me tell you what … been organic gardening my hiney off. I got me a great garden – I’m now the master gardener for my church, Shiloh’s Lighthouse Ministry – that’s on super-healthy mega-steroids. While you’re here, check out the new page on this blog, SLM Garden 2011 for some pics. Fact, I’ll give ya a couple right now. Check this out …

And no, that’s not a spiritual forest on Pandora … it’s an asparagus bed on a dewey August morning here on planet earth. Which is, of course, the same thing, hmm?

Oh, and to cap off a great summer, I had my three grandsons up for a long weekend back-forty campout. Here they are with Ol’ Gramps and our tent digs-

The charming youngster in front is 10 yr. old Kamaree, the tallest whom I have my arm around is 13 yr. old Jorian, and he’s holding his 2 yr. old brother–a real character, trust me!–Amarkus.

So that’s about it for the recap and back to blog post, glad y’all stopped by. I’ll be putting up a couple more posts this week, also resuming stopping in at my fave blogs, and next week, September 13, Professor Old Silly will be back, so all you writers make sure and be on time for class! Also, this coming Sunday, the 11th, sizzling romance novelist from down under, Enid Wilson, will be stopping in here at Free Spirit on a stop on her virtual tour promoting her new book. Make sure and catch that one, this gal is a real hoot, and talented to boot!

Chow gang, love y’all, so glad to be back and to interact with you again!

Click on Tweety Bird and Tweet this post if you liked it!

Tweet Me from The Old Silly's Free Spirit Blog

23 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Margot Winston / Sep 5 2011 6:44 am

    Glad to see you back, Old Silly! What great looking grandsons – congrats!

  2. Stanley Berber / Sep 5 2011 7:32 am

    Well it’s about time! LOL, good to see ya back, old man. 🙂 And those are some good looking boys!

    • theoldsilly / Sep 5 2011 8:08 am

      Thanks, Stan – yeah, I’m pretty proud of those boys. 🙂

  3. Marcus Franks / Sep 5 2011 7:48 am

    Good lookin bunch in front of that tent, Gramps! Even YOU, lol! 😉

    • theoldsilly / Sep 5 2011 8:09 am

      Well I’m happy resemble that remark! 😉

  4. yvonne lewis / Sep 5 2011 8:40 am

    Good to see you back, hope you’ve had a restful time.

    Thanks for the comment on my list do you like children’s slides also??????

    Yvonne.

    • theoldsilly / Sep 5 2011 9:15 am

      Yes I do! One of our family traditions. Dad used to pull out his projector and scroll through hundreds of slides during our family nights. Great memories …

  5. Cactus Annie / Sep 5 2011 9:17 am

    Yay! The Old Silly is back! Looking forward to more doses of Free Spirit, lol. Glad you enjoyed your blogcation, and I know Gramps had a grand time with the grands! 🙂

  6. Barbra Kelser / Sep 5 2011 9:37 am

    Adorable grandkids. Well, the 13 yre old would probably prefer ‘handsom’ lol … good to see you back, Marv, and WOW! I went to your SLM garden page – fantastic garden, you definitely got the GREEN THUMB!

  7. Mary / Sep 5 2011 9:45 am

    So glad you’re back.
    That is one beautiful family!

    • theoldsilly / Sep 5 2011 10:05 am

      Why thank you, Mary. And it’s good to be back! 🙂

  8. Patricia Stoltey / Sep 5 2011 10:51 am

    Happy to have you back in the saddle, Marvin. That’s a great shot of you with your grandsons. I’ll bet you had so much fun with them this summer.

    • theoldsilly / Sep 5 2011 11:46 am

      Thanks, Pat. And yes it was a blast. Plus these boys are very well behaved, well parented, so it makes the whole experience nothing but enjoyable.

  9. John Standish / Sep 5 2011 1:08 pm

    Good looking gang! LOL, glad to see ya back, Marv, and hey – that’s one heckuva garden, dude!

  10. Connie / Sep 5 2011 6:41 pm

    Thanks Dad!!! All five grand kids going back to school? I wish!!! Lol

    • theoldsilly / Sep 5 2011 6:51 pm

      Oops, well of course li’l 3 month old Kalaya will not be going to school – but she will be schooled on life by her great parents!

  11. jorian / Sep 5 2011 7:06 pm

    hi grampa

    • theoldsilly / Sep 6 2011 7:16 am

      Hi Jorian – good to see you here on my blog. 🙂

  12. Arlee Bird / Sep 5 2011 11:48 pm

    Good to see you back, but I wish summer wasn’t coming to an end. Well, I do look forward to cooler weather, but I hate to see time fly like it does.

    Lee
    Tossing It Out

    • theoldsilly / Sep 6 2011 7:17 am

      Oh I know what you mean, Lee. Fall is my favorite season – even though it’s the harbinger of my least favorite season.

  13. tashabud / Sep 6 2011 2:52 pm

    Good to hear that you had a fantastic summer. Those grandkids of yours are adorable! You editing 5 books during your blogcation seems like a lot of work to me. Work is good though, right? Welcome back and have a great day.

    • theoldsilly / Sep 6 2011 6:05 pm

      Tasha, thanks – yes, my grandsons are a handsome bunch of delight! And while editing is work, for me it is a labor of love. Plus, it helps me as a writer … seeing what works and what does not in other author’s manuscripts helps me to hone my craft.

Leave a Reply

